Mother On (sung to tune of Shaggy’s “Wasn’t Me”)

I’ve clearly lost my mothering marbles because this came to me at about 5:30am…and not because the kids woke me up. If you don’t know Shaggy’s song, well, that is not a bad thing; this song is not any kind of representative of me or my musical taste! But here is the video just in case:

Kids me woke up in the early morning fighting at my bedroom door,
Picture this I was sleeping so soundly could have slept many hours more,
How could forget that I gave birth to these two children,
All this time I was dreaming I was livin’ on an island.

He threw my keys in the toilet (mother on)
He threw my phone in the trash can (mother on)
He threw my brush in the hamper (mother on)
Couldn’t find for an hour!

She rolled her eyes in the morning, (mother on)
She deeply sighed during lunch time, (mother on)
She slammed her door after dinner, (mother on)                                                                             She screamed at me when her hair brushed!

Kids me woke up in the early morning fighting at my bedroom door,
Picture this I was sleeping so soundly could have slept many hours more,
How could forget that I gave birth to these two children,
All this time I was dreaming I’m living on a deserted island.

He put marker on the sofa, (mother on)
He covered marker on his body, (mother on)
I had to scrub him for an hour (mother on)
stained the floor of the shower!

They wouldn’t eat their broccoli (mother on)                                                                              They wouldn’t eat their spinach (mother on)                                                                                  They only wanted pasta (mother on)                                                                                             But then they begged for ice cream!

Kids me woke up in the early morning fighting at my bedroom door,
Picture this I was sleeping so soundly could have slept many hours more,
How could forget that I gave birth to these two children,
All this time I was dreaming I’m living on a deserted island.

12 thoughts on “Mother On (sung to tune of Shaggy’s “Wasn’t Me”)

    • just realized I never responded to your comment. My apologies! Glad you enjoyed it and that you have gotten good use out of the phrase 😉 My friend Lindsey said it to me in a text one day after explaining how life was chaotic with her 3rd baby…just gotta mother on!

Leave a Reply

