An Answer to a Meaningful Question

Many thanks to Efficient Momma for asking a meaningful question in response to my offer to feature 5 new bloggers on my side bar in November. She asked about my top 5 favorite books. This is almost an impossible question for me and definitely gave me pause to think but the list became too long. So, I decided to make this a list of my top 5 favorite most recently read books. Rachel said she is looking for books that inspire her to be a better mother. I am always looking for a book like that too and the ones below do so in one way or another.

Check out Rachel at Efficient Momma! She has a great blog about DIY projects, saving money and living simply with her husband and her baby boy.

Top 5 most recent favorite books (in no particular order):

a river runs through it

I did not want this book to end! It is filled with life lessons, family, and beauty. I learned a bit about fly fishing too. I loved the symbolism and the poetic flow of words. I found this book very relaxing and soothing being set in Montana along the Blackfoot River. I highly recommend this book even if you’ve seen the movie, as with most books made to movie, the book is better.

silence of bonaventure arrow

A magical story of love, mysticism, and overcoming grief, this story is so beautifully written about a mother’s love for her child who has never uttered a sound though he has impeccable hearing and many more gifts. This child teaches his mother and everyone around him lessons of life, death and healing.

outlander

You can ask Hillary at Reinventionofmama about this too because she read the trilogy. I only finished Outlander and half of the 2nd book. This is an awesome read…the kind I couldn’t wait to get back to each night. It is a time travel story beginning set in the 1945 and traveling to Scotland 1743. There is history, romance, adventure, mysticism, and folklore. It is a very fun book.

wild

This memoir is written by a woman who lost her mother. She struggles with this loss and her divorce and sets off to find herself, and much more, by hiking the Pacific Crest Trail. It is a really powerful book and has great imagery.

the funny thing is

seriously im kidding

I love all of Ellen Degeneres’ books but the two I read recently are: The Funny Thing Is… & Seriously…I’m Kidding

I’m not so great at writing funny things, but I sure do love to read comedy! Both of these books are full of Degeneres’ hilarious wit and charm. She offers great wisdom and insight into life in the most hilarious way.     I highly recommend all of her books. They are quick reads and great stress relief.

Finally, I thought I’d tell you what I am currently reading:

dont lick the minivan

Don’t Lick the Minivan by Leanne Shirtliffe is about her life and becoming a mother to twins. I am over halfway through it and have laughed out loud and even shed some tears. She is hilarious and heartfelt and has some very interesting stories to tell of her travels and what has led her to say things she never thought she would.

Oh…one more, I guess I’ve gone over the 5 limit. I knew this would be hard but just one more and then I’ll stop. One of my all-time favorite books is Stephen King’s, The Stand.

the stand

This is the only Stephen King book I have read because I cannot read, watch or even think about horror. But this book is not horror in the traditional sense, it is an end of times novel where good battles evil. You will get absorbed into the many character’s lives and transfixed by the dreamlike quality. This book is hard to sum up….I may have to read it again!

I hope this list offers a book you might try, Rachel. I’d love to hear everyone else’s “Top 5” of your most recent, “best ever” or favorites of a particular genre list!

Look for Rachel’s blog button on my sidebar in November and check out the awesome bloggers there now for all of October!

If you’d like your blog button link in November, then check out this post for info.

Happy Reading!

7 thoughts on “An Answer to a Meaningful Question

  1. Thanks for the shout out! 🙂 I think my library reading list just got about 5 books longer! I can’t wait to read these, especially A River Runs Through It and the Ellen books. I watch her show every afternoon, I can always expect a good laugh from her.

  2. Oh the Outlander Series was wonderful! I just finished the third book yesterday and darn was I sorry the ride was over. Usually when I invest that much time in a book (or three, in this case) I find myself getting anxious the closer I get to the end. Will it have what I consider a perfect ending? Nothing worse than thinking, “Well crap” at the end. Beautiful. Just right. Perfect. Muah Diana Gabaldon – you nailed it. Making kissy faces at her right now, the book was THAT GOOD. I can’t wait to check out Don’t Lick the Minivan. That sounds right up my alley.

  3. Great post! The books all look like good reads. I’ve been looking for some new titles too so perfect timing 🙂 I guess I’ll just have to find the time now to read them!

    • 🙂 I finished the Licking the Van one which was really funny and have been looking for another too. I’ve started a few that just aren’t the right fit. I think I’m going to get into Pillars of the Earth (a bit late, I know)…if you have any favorites, I’d love to hear!

Leave a Reply

