A Hot Cup of Tea

This week I seem to have hit a wall. I think it is due to my growing “to do” list because each time I have a free moment to scratch something off, instead I sit in front of my laptop and type, type, type away at either a new blog post or my short story. Because I feel slightly overwhelmed by my lengthening to do list, the holidays and my daughter’s birthday looming, I feel a bit paralyzed. And now when I sit down to write, I feel stuck. I even have a long list of posts I would like to begin but they all end up sounding jumbled with no point so I drop them. Even as I type this award post, I feel like I am rambling… because I am.

So, for a while, I think I need to spend more time scratching things off of my list instead of typing and maybe the result will be some fresh, clear ideas.

In the meantime, I would like to thank my readers. I am deeply humbled that you enjoy what I write. I don’t tend to stick to any particular theme so I appreciate you riding along with me experiencing whatever forms on paper based on my mood.

Thank you so very much to Reinvention of Mama for giving me the Sunshine Award. Shesunshine award says she thinks my writing is “terrific, creative, and positive…and like a hot cup of tea on a breezy day”…I don’t think I have been complimented so nicely! Thank you again. I love Reinvention of Mama’s blog because she writes great short stories and is very honest about her life as a wife and a mother. She is funny, warm and the type of friend I would love to have.

Also, thank you to Loving Always for awarding me the Liebster. I have received this one a couple of times before but did not want to miss the liebster award picopportunity to accept another to give a shout out to the giver! I am new to her blog but have really enjoyed reading her posts.

I think these awards are so fun to receive but they also require a good amount of work on the receiver’s part. So, since I am feeling a bit “bound up” in writing lately, I am going to cheat. I can’t think of any new random facts about myself but I do want to nominate/share with you the blogs I love and find inspiring. So, below is that list. If not following the rules to the T means I can’t have it, I understand. 🙂

Here are Loving Always’ questions for her nominees:

  1. What is your go-to supper foods? whatever can be made into a meal out of what I scrounge out of the fridge/pantry. usually stir fry
  2. One thing you CANNOT leave your house without? my phone
  3. What is your favorite tv show? Once Upon a Time & Revolution
  4. Why do you blog? to gain practice, as an outlet, to connect
  5. What is something that you do all the time, but regret later? get frustrated at my daughter since she is 5 going on 16
  6. Favorite animal? elephants
  7. Type the first three words that pop into your head.. GO! tired, shoulders, playdate
  8. What made you pick the name for your blog that you did? it came to me because I think we are all traveling on a fascinating journey and you never know what is around the next bend.
  9. Favorite store to shop at? Target
  10. What is some advice that you think everyone should know? It is important find your awesome, everybody has it. (thanks modernmanofthecloth)

Some of my favorite blogs in no particular order (I think I might bore you all if I link up every blog I enjoy plus that would take an eternity, so I picked the first ones to come to mind and that I had time to link to during my lil guy’s nap.):

  1. Dear Babies
  2. Little Miss Perfect
  3. Did That Just Happen Blog
  4. Modernmanofthecloth
  5. Atlantamomofthree
  6. Scottishmomus
  7. Fascinations of a Vanilla Housewife
  8. Contrary Mom
  9. Adventures of Fanny P.
  10. Momtimes4
  11. Fortuitous
  12. From 2 to 3 kids
  13. Lady in the House
  14. Things My Daughters Told Me
  15. Mummy Says
  16. Mummy flying solo

Thank you again and again!

27 thoughts on “A Hot Cup of Tea

  1. I just got pinged in my email and it said there was tea. Hope there’s choccy biscuits too.
    Congrats on your awards and thank you for nominating me.
    I know just what you mean about to do lists. My solution now is just not to write them. Even mentally. Nothing gets done but I don’t feel quite so guilty about it. Then I cram everything in at the one time – like studying just before an exam. Then let it build again. Not everyone’s cup of tea, I’m sure.
    Where is that tea?

    I wouldn’t feel to guilty about spending too long typing and blogging. Happy mummy=happy everybody. :)x

    • That is a good tactic! I just feel like I have too many balls in the air right now and they’re things that can’t be forgotten. Could just be a mood 😉 I definitely don’t feel guilty for spending time writing but I do get frustrated when it doesn’t flow out the way I intend.

      • Listen, I’m tidying up in blog land and realising how much I’ve neglected certain things. Can’t find posts ‘cos I don’t categorise properly, missed awards ffs!. How awful.
        All this writing is turning me into a slob. So, I’m having a night off to tidy up. Got to be done.
        We sometimes just have to do what we have to do.
        Then a wee hauf and a spot of blogging without the guilt, I’m thinking.!
        Thanks again for the award. I’m currently gathering them together like lots of little flowers and might force myself to do a post on that.
        Maybe if you and I tackle the chores the flowing will continue. Guilted into it. Me that is. :)x

      • I’m waiting for the flow. Both figuratively and literally. Too much information? And I apologize for being so disjointed with my replies. You know my excuse already. Xo

  2. Thank you!
    I have had to take blogging breaks in the past (and announced them on my blog so that I wouldn’t cheat!) and then FOCUS on the stuff I had been neglecting. These days I can *usually* catch up with things on the weekend, but not always.
    I hope you can check off TONS from that to-do list and write more soon! I love your posts. 😀

  3. Thank you so much for the shout out! We appreciate it so much! My to-do list has taken over and I feel paralyzed, so I totally get it. I hope you find inspiration as you’re crossing things off your list. Good luck!

    • Thanks! I think it’s a mood about the impeding holidays which i love but inevitably cause stress…because when I rewrote my list I realized I had done more than I thought. Whew. Good luck with yours too!

    • Oh and ps you know I get the to-do list thing. A short blogging break can definitely help as does scratching a few things off the list. The words will come back when you create some space for them. 🙂

  4. Well done on your award! I totally get the lists I have lists to remind me of lists that are of other lists and I just keep on making more but never actually cross things off! I also have loads of blog posts I want/ need to write but because I am going round in circles with the gazillion other things I should/ need to do first i don’t actually get to write any posts! Plus my 5 year old daughter is also going on 16 and I too feel guilty about shouting at her! Motherhood hey! 🙂

Leave a Reply

