Daily Prompt: How to Protect Your Words

Today’s Daily Prompt asks about my recent Google search, why I was searching and what I found.

After hearing about Jhanis from Fascinations of a Vanilla Housewife‘s word thief the other day, I realized that I should put a copyright notice on my blog. I was not sure what the protocol was for copyrighting anything and luckily found an easy solution via WordPress help and support. I have wondered how to protect my writings for some time and Jhanis just gave me the motivation to search for answers.

I understand sometimes we get stumped on what to write but copying someone else’s work is appalling especially in the blogging world, I think. Blogging is for pleasure and if you cannot come up with your own words, then just don’t blog! I find inspiration from many blogs but have never been so inspired to steal words. I would not find that cathartic at all and it would defeat my intention for writing entirely.

So, after Googling “how do I copyright my blog”, I found this:

http://en.support.wordpress.com/prevent-content-theft/

Basically, add some version of this to your sidebar:

© [Full Name] and [Blog Name], [Current Year or Year Range]. Unauthorized use and/or duplication of this material without express and written permission from this blog’s author and/or owner is strictly prohibited. Excerpts and links may be used, provided that full and clear credit is given to [Your Name] and [Your Blog Name] with appropriate and specific direction to the original content.

You should also add it to the bottom of each post. I asked WordPress if there was a way to insert a “signature” to automatically appear in every post but there is none so we have to remember to add it to each post. Of course, this will not ensure that your words are never stolen but it at least serves as a “Beware of Dog” sign and hopefully will be a deterrent.

25 thoughts on “Daily Prompt: How to Protect Your Words

  1. I just read that post – my goodness! I worked so very hard on my about page!! I enlisted the help of others – I can’t tell you how many versions Penney had to proof read for me – and how many times I tried to throw buckets of money at her to just get her to write it! In the end, it’s all me and my words and I’d have gone nuts if someone stole it!!

  2. You can also place it on your footer or side bar just like you did so you don’t have to paste it on every blog post. That should cover everything on your blog already. Unless somebody thought they are above the copyright law. So sad that we have to be very explicit about it just to deter thieves.
    Thank you for the shout out :). I don’t think anybody learned anything useful from that post though LMAO

  3. Is there a way to make it an image in say Paint that you could add permanently to your sidebar? I’m going to play around with it some and see what I can come up with.

  4. Pingback: S. Thomas Summers | Daily Prompt: Competition (Photos)

Leave a Reply

