The Small Things

The lovely Meghan at Mathair Fiona recently posted her conclusion to her own thankfulness challenge. I do not usually keep a gratitude journal and did not take part in the November Facebook gratitude posts but Meghan’s challenge inspired me to live with gratitude. And while I may not continue writing down what I am thankful for daily, the exercise trained me to think and feel gratitude regularly. Below is my unedited list of thankfulness begun December 1st. I only made it to the 22nd but I learned a great deal.

  1. I’m thankful that I embody motherly aspects that I don’t always feel. My daughter often comments, as she did this morning, that she loves how warm and soft I am.
  2. I’m thankful for the magic of the Christmas season. The wonder in my children’s eyes is enough to bring tears to mine.
  3. I’m thankful for my dog. She has been with me through all the major moments in my life and now hers is starting to come to an end. I will show her my love by feeding her anything she wants from now on. Steaks and ground beef it is.
  4. I’m thankful for restful sleep and waking early to enjoy coffee and quiet before the house wakes up. It is my favorite part of the day and I love when I get an hour to enjoy it.
  5. I’m thankful for the gift of life, that I watch my children grow every day and that I have enjoyed my dog’s lifetime with her.
  6. I’m thankful for the time I have with my kids to see how they grow and change every day.
  7. I’m thankful for my breath that gets me through hormonal and irritating moments!
  8. I’m thankful for wrapping presents and thinking of the joy soon to be on the faces of loved ones.
  9. I’m thankful for my Young Living essential oils!
  10. I’m thankful for a good night’s sleep, I will work on giving patience when others are tired.
  11. I’m thankful for my yoga practice and all that it has taught me.
  12. I’m thankful for an intact family.
  13. I’m thankful that my children are healthy; snuggling them both this morning when they woke up just filled me up.
  14. I’m thankful that my husband and I care enough to tend to our marriage when we see it getting off track.
  15. I’m thankful for cold nights with hot chocolate looking at Christmas lights.
  16. I’m thankful that my children are so little and are still innocent enough to experience the wonder in life.
  17. I’m thankful for my mom.
  18. I’m thankful my son doesn’t cry in his bed even though he doesn’t want to nap. I’d much rather hear him yell Jingle Bells than cry.
  19. I’m thankful for morning snuggles with my boy, because he doesn’t snuggle very long any other time.
  20. I’m thankful for my sister listening to worries and fears that I don’t share with anyone else.
  21. I’m thankful for a husband who works so hard for his family.
  22. I’m thankful for one on one time with my daughter.

So I didn’t make it the full 30 days; Christmas and life got in the way but my gratitude holds strong even as I struggle with discord in my extended family.

Gratitude is so very important to remember every single day and as often as possible. When you have a hard time coming up with anything to be thankful for, you can always come down to the basics of being thankful for the gift of life. I was lying in bed with the given of thankfulness always in my mind of my healthy children and husband but was feeling so tired and sad with the goings on in my life right now. Yet, I took a moment to feel thankful that I am alive to be dealing with these issues; that I have the gift of life to embrace and challenge myself to make it as peaceful and meaningful as possible.

As I look for a common theme in my daily gratitude of December, it seems that the things that make me feel most happy are the same for everyone:  love, joy, rest, family, peace, and contentment.  It is the small things that bring me the happiest moments. I am thankful for those small things.

Thank you Meghan for inspiring this post. xo

20 thoughts on “The Small Things

  1. I laughed at number 9! LOL Yes we have to be thankful for all the little things that makes life easier!
    I’m thankful for new friends far and near. I’m thankful for you, Rachael, Sarah, Linda, and how I miss Valerie and so many many more bloggy friends who have made 2013 more meaningful!
    Happy New Year!

  2. To save time, and risk forgetting something, I try to remember to awake each day and say, ‘Dear – – – – – – – — thank you for everything and for another day, lots of love, the Kev part of you’ 🙂

  3. Nothing like a little Natalie Merchant in the morning! I too really enjoy the quiet in the morning with a cup of coffee. I don’t always get a consistent amount of time, and I sometimes have to force myself out of bed to get it, but I do love it. I’m glad this exercise could find you in a time of tumult. I’m sorry that you are having a hard time, but hard times are the most important times to be thankful…but you already knew that :). I’m so glad to know you.

    • I don’t always get the hour I desire but I do set my alarm and just the thought of my morning cup uninterrupted makes me get up pretty quickly 😉 Thanks so much for the challenge…I’m so glad to know you as well!

  4. It’s amazing how thoughts of gratitude can change your attitude even in the crappiest of circumstances. When the power went out here 4 days before Christmas, I griped a bit (okay, maybe a lot), but I found that each time I consciously thought about something I was grateful for (like, a gas stove top that allowed us to cook; having both my kids at home; having parents and in-laws within easy driving distance where we could seek a re-charge of electronics and a hot shower) it completely changed my demeanour. I’m going to try to live my life as consciously grateful as I can from here on out.
    Great post, Kerry!

    • Thanks Nancy~Me too. Those were certainly some hard times for you during Christmas! Glad you found some things to be thankful for. It really are the hard times that gratitude helps us the most!

  5. I totally agree that taking the time (even if it’s just noting it in your mind) to acknowledge what your grateful for makes such a big difference. I actually read about a study that said people who describe themselves as happy and feel generally content with their life are also the people who are more willing to express gratitude.

  6. Pingback: I’ll give you six months, you give me food in jars…. « Máthair Fiona

Leave a Reply

