Freestyle Fridays: “Living Clean from the Inside Out” by Making Happiness

Today’s Freestyle Fridays post  is by my new friend Zee of Making Happiness. Her blog is awesome; it’s very positive, uplifting and thought-provoking. Enjoy this post on learning to be true to yourself by shedding your makeup and living what makes you happy. Although, I can’t give up my Bare Minerals Well-Rested…no matter how much sleep I get. 😉 Thanks Zee!

Clean eating has gained a large following recently, as we have become more aware of what we are putting into our bodies, and begun to see repercussions (high intolerance and allergy rates, and strong links to ADHD, Depression, and other mental illnesses).

But what about the chemicals we put on our skin? According to Huffington Post, the average American woman puts between 12 and 20 chemicals on her skin every day. Eek! Think about it: soap, toothpaste, shampoo & conditioner, moisturiser, foundation… and I’m just getting started. Now, I’ve never been one to wear a lot of make-up (daily makeup is mascara, a bit of mineral powder, and lip balm) but combined with my other skin care products, that’s enough chemicals to keep a mad scientist occupied for a while.

And for what? Why is it that we feel the need to contaminate our bodies for ‘magazine beauty’? After much deliberation, I came to the conclusion that if I keep my mind, body, and spirit healthy – I shouldn’t need make-up, right? Case in point: I use mascara and mineral powder to hide dark circles and open up my eyes – if I slept properly and managed my stress levels, I simply wouldn’t need to.

So I threw it all away.*

Which brings me to the subject of beauty. Take a moment now to think about what constitutes beauty in your eyes – even better, write it down.

How many of you had any reference to cosmetics in your list? And if you did, was it a minor or major element? My definitions mostly reflect someone who’s happy, and healthy, and confident in their own skin.

Now, I’m not saying cosmetics are all bad; many people are happy with their appearance but like the look of certain products, and it can certainly be a good confidence booster sometimes. What I am saying is to challenge yourself to realise your natural beauty without the need for make-up, and to use products that contain as many natural ingredients as possible.

In my experience, the most stunningly beautiful people are those who accept and embrace their imperfections, and have a zest for life whether they are 5 or 55.

“She was beautiful, but not like those girls in the magazines. She was beautiful, for the way she thought. She was beautiful, for that sparkle in her eyes when she talked about something she loved. She was beautiful, for her ability to make other people smile even if she was sad. No, she wasn’t beautiful for something as temporary as her looks. She was beautiful, deep down to her soul.” – F. Scott Fitzgerald

Zee
 *Okay… that’s almost true. I kept one mascara – just in case – and I really, really like nail polish, so until I find a more natural alternative, the nail polish is staying!

Thank you, Zee! It was a pleasure working with you on guest posts for eachother’s blogs! 🙂 Please message me if you’d like to guest post on Freestyle Fridays, I’d love to have you.

9 thoughts on “Freestyle Fridays: “Living Clean from the Inside Out” by Making Happiness

  1. Great post! Since I quit going into an office every day I have become more comfortable about going out into the real world without makeup.
    My mom started a small business when her sister got cancer and her body was being ravaged by the drugs, and she expanded the line to include certified organic soaps, lotions and balms – because our skin is our biggest organ and what goes on our body goes in it! My body and skin are much happier without all of those chemicals!
    In addition – what we put on our bodies, from the make up to the soap we use in the shower, it all eventually hits our water supply! The chemicals we are putting on our bodies are also being washed down the drain and mixing in the water, creating more of a mess and more work to remove those toxins!
    Anyway… great post! 🙂

  2. Reblogged this on Making Happiness and commented:
    Here’s a guest post I wrote for Kerry’s Winding Road – the very same person who wrote the wonderful article “Freedom in the Flow”, about intention-setting in your yoga practice.
    Pop on over and let us know what you think about my piece (I’m still not wearing makeup 😉 ) and check out her superb site!

  3. I’m not ready to give up cosmetics – and that’s why I love the natural lines offered by Aveda and Arbonne. Plant-based cosmetics, skincare, haircare are available, and they are pretty fantastic. Great post.

    • Yes – there are a lot of natural DIY alternatives as well, though I haven’t tried them. I’ve found a plant-based NZ company called Global Soap (I live in NZ, so trying to buy local!) which I’m going to buy from once my conventional shampoo runs out 🙂

Leave a Reply

