April In Overdrive

I am feeling a bit guilty so far that my goals for April may have been too easy. First, the 30 Day Green Smoothie Challenge is really not a challenge. I look forward to them each day and what new recipe I will try.

I look forward to my hot fitness yoga class each week too because it is a chance to get an awesome work out with my friend and it motivates me for the rest of the week.

The morning yoga at home has been a struggle because my son or daughter have been waking up early. Which on a side note, why is it that I have to force my daughter out of bed M-F but then Sat & Sun, she is up at the crack of dawn?? And my husband has been waking up later thereby leaving later for work. I told him this morning that he is cramping my “morning yoga”style.

From my post last week, I mentioned the side benefits of challenging myself and getting focused this month. Writing has been great, the characters from the story I am writing are coming to life and ir is really getting some meat on its proverbial bones.

I think the hardest goal this month is the paying better attention to what I eat. I feel hungry more often and trying to find healthy options isn’t always easy. I am sticking to it though and know that there is definitely some detox going on from not grabbing a bagel for breakfast, a grilled cheese for lunch or a soda, handful of chips or a Mr. Goodbar for a snack during my son’s nap. In the morning I have my smoothie, then for a mid-morning snack a boiled egg or a banana with almond butter. Then I might have a cheesestick before lunch of either leftovers or the past two days I have had a MorningStar Asian veggie burger with cheese and avocado on top. I am not left full but still satisfied. Later in the day I try to have some almonds for a snack to tied me over until dinner. I daresay I am dieting; I am just trying to make some healthy habits and lose a bit of the belly fat I have acquired. And the weekends are much less stringent.

So, since I went easy on myself this month, I am already cooking up some heftier plans for May even though it is barely mid-April. I enjoy planning if you haven’t noticed.

motivation

Here are the smoothies I have done over the last few days. Check out the recipe link above, they are all there too.

The “Almond Butter & Jelly” smoothie was absolutely delicious! It was like a milkshake, I will definitely be repeating that one.

Day 6: “Peach Coconut Dream”:

  • 1 cup spinach
  • ½ cup coconut water
  • 1 cup grapes
  • 1 peach

This one sounded better than it was. It tasted very spinach-y and the grape skins didn’t break up so well. Not one of my favorites. But I drank it anyway.

Day 7: “Tropi-Kale”:

  • ½ cup kale
  • ½ cup spinach
  • 1 cup coconut water
  • ½ banana
  • 1 cup pineapple

This was delicious!

 Day 8: “Avo-Banana Kale”:

  • 1 cup kale
  • 1 cup water
  • 1 ½ bananas
  • ¼ avocado

I liked this one, nothing to write home about. It was a bit thick, but tasty.

 Day 9: “Spa Skin Cleanse”:

  • 1 cup spinach
  • 1 cup coconut water
  • 1 cup pineapple
  • ½ avocado

Yum!

Day 10: “Peach Coconut Dream”:

  • 1 cup spinach
  • ½ cup coconut water
  • 1 cup grapes (frozen)
  • ½ cup peaches

This was very good, the grapes broke up better, maybe because they were frozen.

Day 11: “Pina Colada”:

  • 1 cup spinach or kale
  • ¾ cup almond milk
  • ¼ coconut water
  • 1 ½ cups pineapple
  • 1 tbs unsweetened coconut flakes

Okay, this one was not good. I made this on a Saturday and made 2 servings to recruit my husband into the green smoothie club but I didn’t let him taste it so as not to run him off never to return. I should’ve used half-frozen/half fresh pineapple because I had to use hot water to get it blending. I didn’t have unsweetened coconut flakes. I took a different route and purchased a Thai coconut and went through the labor of cutting it all up, saving the coconut water, and drying the strips in the oven. It didn’t quite work out and the coconut chunks didn’t break up well. I either need a better blender or need to try this again with the flakes. Either way, it wasn’t good, but I drank/chewed it and choked  it down anyway.

strawberriesDay 12:”Strawberry Blast”:

  • 1 cup spinach, fresh
  • 1 cup almond milk
  • 1 cup strawberries, frozen
  • 1/2 banana

This smoothie was pretty tasty. I purposely chose it to use some of the 15 lbs of strawberries I picked this past weekend but 1 cup barely made a dent.

They are now nicely baked into two loaves of bread with pecans, stashed in the fridge for snacking and the other 11 pounds are snugly packed in the freezer for years of strawberry smoothies, daiquiris, and margaritas.

Have a great week everyone!

 

 

19 thoughts on “April In Overdrive

  1. How great to read your reviews before having to try one of the failing ones out for myself! What a great way to get some nutrition in both myself and my picky little eaters as well!

    • It is such a great way! I am going to keep these up as my breakfast everyday past April. I feel good drinking them and know I am getting what I need. I haven’t given one to my kids yet. I think they might like the almond butter one. I would probably use yogurt and extra fruit for theirs.

  2. Way to go on keeping up with your challenges – and it’s okay if they seem easy, cause a year ago I bet the wouldn’t have, but the healthy lifestyle changes you are making are just that, changes in lifestyle – and I’m super proud!

  3. the smoothies sound good. The challenges are good too. I remember getting back into shape and trying lots of different things like a paleo diet, or giving up this food group or that. The paleo diet was good for structure, and got me eating vegetables again but it didn’t work for me. I have a tendency to over do it and I was eating tons of bacon. I like that you are not giving up on things but taking up other things that you need like more vegetables and just making small decisions along the way. I think you will have a lot of success!

    • Thanks Miriam. I’ve done the dive in head first with fads with food and other things and they never stick. Lifestyle changes happen slowly. And I like adding them in one at a time. Definitely works better for me.

Leave a Reply

