Revisiting April Goals

Last week was good. Hot fitness yoga was awesome as usual. My treadmill run was great. And I even got in two morning at-home yoga sessions. I did one day of cleansing foods; the trial Day 1 of the 21 Day Cleanse. I wanted to see how it would feel and while I had no intention of paying the $100 to do the full cleanse, I figured one day of clean eating wouldn’t hurt.

I have learned about myself over the years that for any change to stick, it must happen slowly and gradually. It is this reason that I did not do the full 21 day cleanse. I know myself well enough to know that if I did it, I would swing the opposite direction the next month sabotaging all that I accomplished. I would completely burn out. So, it was a nice day of good food, but I am back to just green smoothies and healthier choices while not depriving myself of something if I really want it. In fact, giving into cravings actually motivates me more to stay on track which may sound counter-intuitive but it works for me and I know this now because I have jumped headfirst into all kinds of things only to burn out shortly after.

moderation

So, all is on track and I thought I’d share the past few days of smoothie recipes I used and the Day 1 cleanse.

Day 13: “Morning Fuel”

  • 1 cup kale
  • ½ cup almond milk
  • 1 orange
  • ½ cup pineapple
  • ½ banana
  • ¼ avocado

Very tasty!

 

Day 14: “Cilantro Limeade”

  • ¾ cup spinach
  • ¼ cup cilantro
  • 1 cup water
  • 1 ½ bananas
  • ½ lime
  • ½ inch ginger

Yum! Very light and fresh

 

Day 15: “Avo-Berry Tang” & Day 1 Cleanse of the 21 Day Cleanse

I started the morning with one cup of coffee (coffee and wine are mainstays) before beginning the day of cleansing food.

After my one cup, I started Day 1 of the 21 Day Cleanse:

  • Morning tonic (hot water steeped with lemon, ginger and cayenne)
  • Breakfast: smoothie:

1 cup spinach

¾ cup coconut water

½ cup blackberries

¼ avocado, frozen

2 tbsp lemon juice

2 tbsp chia seeds (either blended in or sprinkled on top. I did half/half)

I did not like this one. It wasn’t very sweet and I did not like the chia seeds in it.  I choked it down but it was rough.

  • Snack: Coconut Trail Mix (delicious and exactly what I needed to boost morale after the smoothie)
  • Lunch: Mango Detox Salad (delicious and surprisingly filling giving great energy for a great run)
  • Snack: Coconut Chia Pudding (pretty good and helped tied me over to dinner)
  • Dinner: Loaded Sweet Potato (really tasty!…until it wasn’t. Hard to explain but the first half was delicious and then I reached burnout point and thought I would barf if I ate one more bite.)
  • Dessert: Spiced Almond Milk (a nice treat and left me feeling full all evening)

I realized by the end of the day that I felt just fine with only one cup of coffee. I love having two cups in the morning so I have since had one caffeinated cup and one decaf cup to slowly wean myself off the need for caffeine.

For recipes, click on the cleanse link above, scroll down to the link to the Day 1 trial.

 

Day 16: “Kiwi-Strawberry Twist”

  • 1 cup kale & dandelion
  • 1 cup orange juice
  • 1 cup strawberries
  • 1 kiwi
  • ½ banana
  • Lemon squeezed

This was delicious, tart and sweet.

 

Day 17: “Pineapple, Kale, Coconut Oil”

  • 1 cup kale
  • 1 cup water
  • 1 cup pineapple
  • ½ banana
  • 1 tbsp coconut oil

This was good, I really enjoy kale in smoothies. I had a great yoga class this day and came home to a flooded home. I thank yoga for helping me not to freak out when I drove home to this:

flood

Day 18:“Cilantro Mango Detox”

  • ¾ cup spinach
  • ¼ cup cilantro
  • ¾ mango
  • 1 cup water
  • ½ cup pineapple
  • ¼ avocado

Very tasty…the cilantro gives it a nice, refreshing flavor

 

Day 19: “Fight Free Radicals”

  • 1 cup spinach
  • ½ sprig mint
  • ½ cup water
  • 1 cup cantaloupe
  • ¼ cup blueberries
  • ½ apple
  • ¼ lime, squeezed
  • ½ banana
  • ½ lemon squeezed

This was good, I like the subtle cantaloupe flavor

 

Day 20: “Almond Butter & Strawberry “Jelly”

  • 1 cup spinach
  • 1 cup almond milk
  • 1 cup strawberries, frozen
  • 1 banana
  • 2 tbsp almond butter

This one was too good not to repeat but this time with strawberries and it is a great one for a Monday breakfast before hot fitness yoga.

 

Have a great week!

14 thoughts on “Revisiting April Goals

  1. Sounds like you’re making some great changes! And it’s so important to know you and how you’ll behave! I have a my morning coffee (actually, cappuccino… I found some great cheap k-cups!) and then at night I have a cup of decaf and it’s a great way to end the day!

  2. I have a tendency of jumping in and then burning out, but occasionally I *need* to jump in or I won’t do it at all. Kwim? In the case of changing eating habits, I am definitely a gradual changer. 😉 Wow, those smoothies sound so good!

    • yes, me too…as far as the need to jump in sometimes. that is why the 30 day green smoothie challenge and any other monthly challenge works for me. It is like an additive to my life without making a complete overhaul. some of them are really great! I will be keeping this as a part of my lifestyle..they are a great breakfast.

  3. “really tasty!…until it wasn’t.” Ha ha ha! I know exactly what that’s like 🙂 Well done on the changes you are making – slow and steady is (I think) the best way to make lasting changes. An all-out jump in teaches us new things, but real change comes from adopting new habits over the weeks and months.
    Horrible flooding. How did you get into your house??!

Leave a Reply

