Freestyle Fridays: “Confessions of a Vegan Hypocrite” by Brittany Bullen

Happy Freestyle Fridays! Today’s guest post is by Brittany Bullen. She shares a bit of her journey into a vegan diet and why she found herself in a more moderate lifestyle. Check out her blog for her newest challenge…90 Smoothies in 30 Days. Thanks so much for sharing Brittany!

confessions-of-a-vegan-hypocrite

So, I used to be really good at the vegan thing. I was totally on board. So much so, even, that our family for a good 2+ years was almost totally raw. If you’ve seen my YouTube cooking show, UnCooking 101, you know that I probably had the healthiest toddler on the block. It was great! We loved how good we felt… and looked!

We first got in to the vegan thing when I was nursing my firstborn, because we were paranoid and convinced that he had all kinds of health problems he didn’t actually have… you know, like you do with your first. By process of elimination we determined that the cause of said imaginary health problems was my dairy consumption. We had already been mostly vegetarian, so it was a pretty easy shift for us. And then, of course, because I have a habit of excessively reading about things, I came across books like Eat to Live by Joel Fuhrmann  and Raw Food, Real World by Sarma Melngailis that convinced me that vegan wasn’t enough and raw was the only way. They make some great points. I still do recommend them, for sure, as well as several other great ones I’m sure you’ll find if you head down that rabbit hole. See you on the other side. =)

That said, I think we still do okay. There are certain aspects of our raw adventures that have stuck with us– one of the best being Green Smoothies.  LOVE them!  If you’re not making them with your family, you totally should.  Without them I’m pretty sure my toddler would NEVER eat vegetables of any kind!  Now, we give the kids at least one smoothie a day (as well as lots of fresh fruit!) so I feel like we’re not a total lost cause.

Here’s how my husband does smoothies:

  • 7 or 8 apples
  • Half a blender full of water
  • Several large handfuls of spinach

That’s about it. It really can be that simple if you’re like him and don’t like to get fancy. Here’s my latest favorite smoothie recipe:

  • 3 apples
  • 1 banana
  • 2 handfuls frozen pineapple
  • 3 handfuls frozen mango
  • Several handfuls of leafy greens (I get a mix at Costco that has Kale, Chard and Who Knows What Else)
  • Half a blender full of water

The possibilities are endless. If you want to get in to the green smoothie thing, I made a video about it back in the day for you to check out!

Then why did we stop being vegan, you ask?

I don’t know, guys. I wish I had a better answer to that besides “it just got too hard,” but truthfully I really don’t… except to say that the other problem was, I didn’t really like vegan Brittany as much as Chubby Brittany. Chubby Brittany is more fun to be around because she isn’t preoccupied with the evil goings-on of chicken farms (okay, she still is, but she keeps it inside now).

If you’re sad, Chubby Brittany will get you a cookie rather than a raw macaroon that took 6 hours to prepare.

If you’re sad because someone you know has cancer, Chubby Brittany will be more sympathetic than Raw Brittany, who would have secretly suspected that they brought it upon themselves by eating evil foods.

Is there a middle ground? I’d like to think there is. I’d like to think that you can be healthy and not annoying. But I don’t know. We haven’t figured it out yet. If you have, please let me know because I want to know your secret. Until then, I’ll be here enjoying my mostly vegan, lots of raw (on a good day), sometimes meaty/cheesy/pizza loving/cookie eating/hypocritical life, served always with a subtle and small side of guilt.

Brittany Bullen
Thank you Brittany! I love your easy green smoothie ideas and your road to moderation. I’ve also really enjoyed your videos! If you would like to guest post, let me know! I’d love to have you. Have a wonderful weekend.

29 thoughts on “Freestyle Fridays: “Confessions of a Vegan Hypocrite” by Brittany Bullen

  1. Can you still have happy meals if you go vegan? 🙂
    I know myself too well to think I could do something like that. We do eat organically and gave up processed foods (I lost 40 pounds, btw) but there are just too many yummy things to eat. And I want to eat them all.
    Smoothies, though. Smoothies I can do. It’s brilliant.

    • We totally have happy meals on occasion =) Curse you McDonalds and your deliciousness! Thanks so much for your comment– I’m hoping just adding the good stuff will be enough to make the bad stuff not so harmful… we’ll see, eh?

  2. Brittany, your last 4 paragraphs made my life! I just want to kiss you, girl. (In a totally non-creepy way, of course!). I struggle with the same desire to live my healthiest life, but recognizing that all-healthy-choices-all-the-time make for a really bitchy Nancy. Everything in moderation, and a good dose of daily sweat is the path I’m currently following. I may not have a six-pack (which apparently are built in the kitchen, not in the gym :-)) but I am a much happier girl these days.

    Heading over to your blog now. You’ve got a new fan.

    • Thanks so much Rose. It’s so tough. We do what we can. After all, if I got hit by a bus tomorrow, I’d be wishing I’d eaten more cookies.

  3. I love this post! Thanks for sharing, Kerry!
    I definitely need to start making green smoothies because my 2 year old won’t eat any vegetables except okra (and it has to be fried 🙄 ) haha So, I am headed off to find some recipes!

    I think it’s great that you’ve found what works for you, and what doesn’t. I know what you mean about thinking about this stuff all the time – it’s no funl! I have a found a balance, I think. I make healthy food decisions most of the time, and physical fitness is very important to me, but I’m not obsessed with what I eat and do anymore. Because of that, I weigh more than I used to…but I’m happier day to day. I have goals that I still plan on meeting, such as an increase in water and more vegetarian recipes, but I’m not “in it to win it” anymore. I want to enjoy living…not focus on all the health nut stuff ALL THE TIME! 😉

      • Yeah, I hadn’t thought about doing them for Samuel until she mentioned the word toddler (just hadn’t clicked for some reason until now!) but I will be looking through all the ones you’ve shared recently! Thanks again! 🙂

      • Ryder hasn’t tried them but Rigby has enjoyed them a few times. Not sure she would like most of the ones I made unless they had yogurt or something a little sweeter.

    • I’m so glad you said that because it just so happens that the Day Two post I’m working on right now has a video about getting your kids to eat them! Be sure to check it out on my blog, it should be up later today.

  4. Oooooo I really enjoyed this post. I have trouble getting my little one to have green smoothies but maybe I’m not keeping the flavours simple enough for him. I’m going to give your hubby’s version a go! Great idea. My partner’s ex wife was a macro biotic vegan and he swears it made her a bit crazy – all that constant paranoia about food. He also said eating out was a nightmare and she drove people around the twist with it. I can see how you could get to that place. I love your moderate approach. Will check out your blog.

    • Thanks Rachael! I think you’ll like the Day Two post then– healthy eating with kids around can be so tough! Looking forward to getting to know you better.

      B

  5. Thank u for being so honest in this post. Healthy people bless those freaks;), can be very annoying! I especially like the part about secretly feeling illness is self imposed. I have seen this attitude. It’s not easy to admit and I appreciate candor over wagging fingers. Thank u! U aren’t a hypocrite, you are a human trying to make sense of a senseless world.

    • Thanks so much, Miriam. It’s so hard not to get sucked into the vortex of healthiness! I have so many mean comments on my videos from people who said I wasn’t making things healthy enough– eventually I stopped reading the comments altogether because it would ruin my day!

      • It bet! Some people get so self-righteous about their diets. I remember when I was describing a delicious chocolate, Sin in a Tin, and a person proceeded to tell me I was addicted to sugar and all of the awful things it would do to me. Sugar no good, I know…but a little here and there just makes me happy 🙂

      • I am totally addicted. But I’ve come to terms with it… kind of. You should read my post “A Love Letter to My Tummy”.

  6. Pingback: The Best Argument | Winding Road

  7. Pingback: Guest Post ~ Why You Should Consider a Home Birth (or Not) | Atlanta Mom of Three

Leave a Reply

