May Add-Ons

Concluding my goals for the month, I am happy to say that April power did bloom. It was a fun month and I really enjoyed having specific challenges to keep me motivated rather than a vague goal of ‘I wanna eat better and exercise”. I think this is going to become a real habit: finding new challenges each month. It is a fun way to try new things and better our lives.

challenges

 

The Cardinal Grand Cross was an interesting week. I have never been very into astrology but it does make sense for the cosmos to effect our lives and it certainly did mine, although I recognize the possibility of coincidence. But then again, is coincidence even real? I wonder sometimes. Anyway, the predictions for the week played out in many ways, textbook-style, in my life. At its peak formation on Wednesday, I wrote this, feeling the pressure yet trying my best to move forward and grow stronger without burdening my mind, being able to detach and disengage while still remaining loving and kind. I did not have any struggles with anxiety this week and overall feel that tranquility was restored in many facets by the end of the week. All in all, April has been very empowering.

Here were my April goals:

  • Do fitness yoga once per week √
  • Run on treadmill once per week √
  • Attend a “regular” yoga class once per week √
  • Do home yoga/meditation once or twice per week at home √
  • Complete the “30-Day Green Smoothie Challenge” √
  • Do either a 1 day or 3 day cleanse √
  • Pay closer attention to what I eat, i.e. processed foods/sugars/fats √
  • Drink more water and cut out my weekly mid-day mini-soda √

My goals were not so hard to accomplish and that gives me a push to do a bit more in May. Although I missed fitness hot yoga this week because I chose to do Yin yoga instead and don’t want to burn my mom out on babysitting even though I am pretty sure she would pay me to see my son. He has her wrapped around his tiny little finger. In lieu of the missed class, I did the treadmill. So, two days of running this week instead of one. While I am not a huge fan of running, I will say it is like tequila…I don’t like it but it’s quick and to the point.

To finish out my green smoothie challenge, I want to share with you the last of the recipes I tried:

Day 21: “Rainbow Love”:

  • 1 cup spinach
  • ½ orange
  • ½ cup strawberries
  • ¼ cup blueberries
  • ½ banana

This was really yummy!

Day 22: “Mango Orange Madness”:

  • 1 cup spinach
  • 1 cup coconut water
  • ½ orange
  • ½ cup mango
  • ½ banana

Delicious!

Day 23: “Lemon Cleanser”:

  • 1 cup kale
  • 1 cup water
  • 1 cup mango
  • ¼ lemon peeled
  • ½ banana

Not good. This was a fail and I couldn’t choke it down. The flavor was good but somehow either some rind or a lemon seed got blended in and the texture was terrible, couldn’t even swallow it. Oh well.

Day 24: “Almond Butter Cup”

  • 1 cup spinach or kale
  • 1 cup almond milk
  • 1 banana
  • 1 1/2 tbs cocoa powder
  • 1 tbs almond butter

Delicious!! Tastes like a milkshake!

Day 25: “Sweet Dream”

  • 1 cup spinach/kale
  • 1 cup almond milk
  • 1 cup mango
  • 1/2 banana
  • 1 tbs almond butter
  • 1/2 tsp cinnamon
  • 1/8 cayenne pepper

Delicious!! Another one like a milkshake.

Day 26: “Pineapple Berry”:

  • ¾ cup spinach
  • ¼ cup cucumber peeled
  • ½ cup water
  • ½ orange
  • ½ cup pineapple
  • ½ cup strawberries

The cucumber makes this smoothie really refreshing. And the fruit is just the right amount of sweetness.

Day 27: “Strawberry Blast” (a repeat) 

Day 28: “Chocolate Covered Cherry”: 

  • 1 cup spinach
  • 1 cup almond milk
  • 1 cup cherries
  • 1 banana
  • ½ tsp cinnamon
  • 1 ½ tbs cacao powder

Day 29: “Almond Butter & Jelly” (repeat) 

Day 30: “Sweet Pear”: 

  • 1 cup spinach
  • 1 cup almond milk
  • 2 pears
  • ½ banana
  • ½ tsp cinnamon

Without further ado, here is what I intend to accomplish in May:

  • Continue all of April’s goals including morning green smoothies, fitness yoga, treadmill and yoga/meditation and add-on:
  • 30 day plank challenge…working up to a 2 min plank. I will use an app called “30Days” and it has lots of challenges on there. I’ll try out the other ones in coming months.
  • 30 Day Real Food Challenge
  • Complete 2 chapters of my novel
I've always loved this

I’ve always loved this

Have a great week!

I am linking up with Valerie of Atlantamomofthree to stay motivated with others taking on challenges!

health-and-fitness

27 thoughts on “May Add-Ons

  1. Congrats on meeting your goals – and personally, I think the modification you did was perfect! I’m a very big believer in modification and adapting to fit my very real life. Love the plank challenge. That is a good way to lead up to the push up challenge, but with all of your yoga, I bet that you can master the plank!

    • Thanks Kate. I hope so. Day 1 and I did not do one iota of what is on my list. As you prob know from FB, we lost our home. But, I still plan to accomplish my goals, maybe just a bit behind schedule 😉

      • Yes, I’ve been watching it unfold – and just can’t imagine! I haven’t reached out because you have so much going on , and well – there is nothing I can do, but know that you are in my thoughts and prayers!

  2. Sounds so good, Kerry!! Well done in April, and here’s to a great May! 😀
    Also, planks are included in of one my goals for May too.

  3. Awesome stuff Kerry! Watch for the bad-ass shout out in tomorrow’s April wrap up post and good for you in declaring your May goals already! I’m publishing May’s challenges on Monday. I’m excited you’re taking on the daily planking challenge. That was an awesome one for me in April!

  4. Love the comfort zone / magic graphic. Yup. Sounds about right. And planking: dang! I’ll probably poop myself, but must get going on that one. So simple. John

    • I love that graphic/message…it really is so true and I am deeply learning it in a way I never expected. We have been flooded out of our home and the lessons I am learning are unexpected and wonderful. I plan to share the experience with all of you lovely friends as soon as the opportunity arises. xo

      • Flooded out!? Holy cow. I hope you and yours are getting along ok. I’ll be watching for that post!

  5. Pingback: throwing it down in May | my year[s] of sweat!

    • Well, I was but it’s all been put on hold for a while. I’ll get back to it….may transfer these to a June challenge. May has its own set going on 😉

  6. Pingback: monthly challenges recap: May edition | my year[s] of sweat!

Leave a Reply

