July Minimalism Game

As I said in recent posts, I have decided that I want a simpler life. Even now, living in disarray at my mother’s house with stuff chaotically around us, I am trying to simplify. It seems easier to part with things that are scattered around me than when they are neatly stored away. In reading blogs about minimalism, I am slowly learning tips on how to de-clutter and live more simply.july challenge pic 1

One particular challenge recently caught my eye: Minimalism Game. During the month of July, I will get rid of one item on the first day, two on the second, three on the third and on throughout the month to rid myself of things I don’t need. It will become harder as the month goes on but I am sure I can find things. Even having lost almost everything in the flood, there are things we salvaged that we still don’t need.

Once all of my items are gathered, they will be donated for a rummage sale for the group Emerge that held a benefit raising money for my family. I encourage you to do the same! Check out the post here.

This will be my July challenge. I did not do well with my June challenges except for continuing green smoothies every morning and yoga at least twice per week but those are just part of my lifestyle so it would be cheating to say they were completed challenges. I went to my writing group and had a great session leaving with wonderful edits that I have yet to implement. So, no new chapter written but I am not giving up on the story, it is going to be great. I will get back to some of my personal challenges when my life is more settled. I thought I could do it all, but there is just too much going on right now to focus on planks, the only challenge I didn’t even touch.

As for the Minimalism Game, I am on day 4 and going strong. I think letting go of the things you have always kept for some future use are the hardest. I am ridding of clothes and books my kids have outgrown, easy stuff, but I have a big box of vases that I know I don’t need. They are all pretty but who needs 10 vases? And then there are all of my unique and antique bottles that decorated my wedding, they are sentimental and pretty but I don’t need them. These are the things I plan to part with mid month. What can you let go of this month?

july challenge pic

Happy Independence Day, America!

22 thoughts on “July Minimalism Game

    • haha! I’ve done that before too in a haste and ended up getting rid of stuff I actually needed. I’m trying to be more methodical this time so my family doesn’t hate me. 🙂

  1. Don’t discard any writing, no matter how unimportant it seems. I made that mistake once and regret it. Starting with the vases is wise. You may take time to write a few notes to put in the bottles. Happy tossing!

  2. Wow! Good luck in the challenge and update us. I think my husband would love for us to do this. Looking at my dresser drawers this morning I could probably do the whole month in there!

  3. This sounds like a great way to de-clutter. Hubby and I took a drive to visit a neighborhood like ours, but a little to the west of us. We parked the car and walked the neighborhood to get a feel for it. Walking past one house we could see through the large bay window, boxes and storage containers stacked high. Hubby commented, “maybe they’re getting ready to move”, to which I replied, “nope. hoarders.” He looked around the property and into the open gate to the backyard and nodded, yup.

    I may not be living a true minimalistic life yet, but I’m far from a hoarder. This gives me comfort. 🙂

    Good luck with this July minimalism game. Sounds like you’re killing it already!

      • Hey, if there’s one thing I’ve learned about the repetitive/cumulative-style 30 day challenges it is that you needn’t follow them to the letter of the law to be successful. Do what feels right for YOU.

  4. I like the idea of a de-clutter challenge! I do have a lot of things put away neatly – or in other words ‘hidden’. I am always working on decluttering but may need to do a conscience effort! Happy decluttering! Happy 4th!

  5. This is a fantastic idea, I have way too much stuff and I need very little of it. I love how you have taken your bad experience and turned it into something positive for your and your family’s future.

  6. This is one thing that I need to take seriously. Like really seriously. The purging I did the last time did not go pretty well judging by the stuff I have stored away still. Good luck on the challenge Kerry!

  7. On Thursday I did not have to work, but I had a sinus infection so did not feel like doing much. At some point in the morning I went to my closet and just started taking things out. In about an hour I had redone my whole closet and set aside a number of things to give away. I didn’t push myself to make decisions about what to keep or give away, bc I was sick. BUT. The solid sleeveless shirts are together. The print sleeveless shirts are together. Likewise the solid and print short sleeves, the solid and print long sleeves, the solid and patterned sweaters, the dresses, the capris, and the ling pants. All together. It’s a start!

    • Yes, organization is definitely a start. When we move in to our new house I am going to do the hanger challenge with what I have kept. The one where you put all hangers one way then as you wear things you turn them around and get rid of what’s left after a year.

  8. Hmmm… you’ve given me lots to think about with this one. I have too much stuff, there’s no two ways about it. I will be brave and see if I can join in the challenge!

Leave a Reply

