My Raw Experience: Raw Brownies

So, as I said the other day, I am embarking on a raw foods journey. I have never been intrigued by raw foods as a diet until I made these brownies.

Raw Brownies:
2 cups whole walnuts
2 1/2 cups pitted dates
1 cup raw cacao
1 cup raw unsalted almonds, roughly chopped
1/4 sea salt

  1. blend walnuts in food processor on high until finely ground
  2. add cacao and salt, pulse
  3. add dates one at a time
  4. mix chopped almonds with date mixture
  5. press into a cake pan and put in refrigerator

 

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

And then, when I tasted how good they were, I was intrigued. Then after the raw potluck lunch, I was hooked. I had no idea the versatility a raw foods diet provides. There are raw recipes that taste like real food!

Now, I have no intention of making my family take on a raw foods diet. I have growing children and would not want them to eat a solely vegan diet. I still eat meat and dairy but am just trying to incorporate better, healthier foods into my life. I take an 80/20 mentality on life and tend to think and live in moderation. So, I am experimenting with a raw foods diet primarily for myself mainly for breakfast and lunch. As I taste things that I think my kids will enjoy, I will try it on them too. For now, the desserts are a big hit with them and they have no idea what they are eating! I’m earning major mommy points when I give them a brownie and say “yes!” when they ask for more.

brownie

If you’ve never tried a raw foods recipe, I suggest you start with a dessert.  You are more likely to be curious about trying more recipes when you taste how good the desserts are.

Coming soon:

Eggless egg salad

Tacos

Strawberry pie

17 thoughts on “My Raw Experience: Raw Brownies

  1. Okay, let me get this straight. THAT set of ingredients wound up tasting like actual brownies???
    Or – is it just called raw brownies, and tastes great, but doesn’t actually taste like brownies? Dying to know!

    • Nancy, my very favorite skeptic, I am serious! They are raw and taste like brownies! And it’s not just me, my kids liked them, people who tried them were shocked and my realtor tried the recipe yesterday and texted me how much she liked them. Give them a try!

Leave a Reply

