My Raw Experience: The Raw Taco

Raw food recipes have become a fun little hobby for me.  It has struck a cord of curiosity and fascination seeing and tasting how foods can completely change their structure, form, taste and texture just by using them in different ways. Who knew that cashews make things creamy? Or that walnuts mimic ground meat?

I love everything about Mexican food so decided to start searching for raw recipes that mimic the foods I love.  As soon as I found a raw taco recipe, I was intrigued and had to find out if it was anything like a real taco. I’ll tell you the verdict after I share with you how it was all done.

I borrowed my friend’s dehydrator. I’m not ready to commit to a raw foods diet quite yet so am going to borrow her dehydrator until the day comes that I feel I need one in my collection. I learned after my short lived juicing kick that appliances need to come after the habit is developed…if you have a friend to borrow from of course.

Before I share the recipe, I want to share the appliances and tools you need to get started on most raw recipes: a coffee grinder, a chopper, a food processer, a high-speed blender and a spiral slicer.

I started with the shells as they take almost a full day of dehydration and followed this recipe . There are lots of recipes of similar nature but this site had recipes for the filling and the sour cream so I used hers. Here is how it went for me:

Taco Shells

  • 1 ½ cups golden flax ground into fine meal
  • 1 ½ cups frozen or fresh corn kernels (I used frozen)
  • ¼ cup chopped onion
  • ¼ chopped red pepper
  • 1 tsp chili powder (I was out but had chipotle chili powder and used less. It was spicy, but good!)
  • ½ tsp cumin
  • ½ tsp salt

First, I ground the golden flax with the coffee grinder before adding it to the food processor with the rest of the ingredients. Process until blended and smooth. Next, place the mixture on Teflex sheets and spread out. I used my hands because we got rid of our rolling pin after the flood. The rolling pin would’ve made this work much better and would have made it spread thinner.

Place in dehydrator for 3 hours. Then take it out, cut rounds using a small upside down bowl. Then flip them over and put back in the dehydrator for another hour. I used the scraps by cutting into triangles for chips.

After an hour, fold the rounds in half to form a shell. Use and toothpick or aluminum foil to keep them propped open. Dehydrate for another 3-4 hours. I had to dehydrate mine longer since they were a bit too thick.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

Taco “Meat”

  • 1 cup soaked walnuts (soak for about 2-3 hours)
  • 1 rib celery
  • ½ cup chopped cabbage
  • 1 carrot
  • ½ tomato
  • 1 Tbsp chili powder (again, I used the chipotle powder and it was spicy!)
  • 1 tsp cayenne pepper
  • Dash of namo shoyu

Mix all together in the food processor.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

Sour Cream

  • 1 cup raw cashews
  • ½ cup water
  • Contents of 1 probiotic capsule
  • Pinch of salt

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

Mix in a blender until smooth. It may take a couple of days to get sour like sour cream. At first it has little flavor.

I topped my taco with cilantro, tomato, and avocado. It was good! Ihad a couple of friends come over to eat one too because I knew my family wouldn’t eat them for dinner and I didn’t want them to go to waste. They were taste-tested and approved by 2 very nice friends! My mom liked everything but the shells because they were too thick and therefore not very crispy.

IMG_3592

I did like them but will say that they are no match for a real taco. If you are strict vegan, they will be satisfying, but otherwise, I’d say stick to the real enchilada…pun intended 🙂

The sour cream, however, is something I will make again. It is tasty and the texture is good. Plus, it is a good base for all kinds of dips, it is basically a blank slate for any flavor.

I really enjoyed making these though. Trying raw foods recipes is like new science experiments!

Coming up:

Fruit Roll-ups

Almond Butter Cups

Here is my Raw Foods Pinterest board.

12 thoughts on “My Raw Experience: The Raw Taco

  1. Fascinating experiment! The one thing I find when I do this sort of thing is that I spend SO MUCH TIME in the kitchen. It’s fun but really stops you from being able to do anything else. I’m not sure how the truly committed manage it!! Nice work!

    • This whole thing is really interesting. I have a few more recipes I want to try…mainly desserts 🙂 But, yes, the taco one required a lot of time which I don’t have much to waste. Also, it is not a cheap diet so I will pick and choose what works. But, it is definitely fun playing with food 🙂

  2. Kerry, you are a trooper for spending all day making these! I am exhausted just reading the work that went into them!
    The ‘sour cream’ sounds like it’s not too big an effort, and can serve multiple uses – so that sounds pretty interesting. To your point, though, the ingredients are not cheap, so between cost and time commitment, my hat’s off to anyone who makes this a lifestyle!

  3. i thought they were excellent…it’s not very labor intensive just kind of time is involved patience is key. The only reason I wouldn’t go raw would be the fact that l love fire, heat, scalding hot, flambeed, poached, grilled, braised, charred, fried… etc etc. But raw cooking is fun!

    • awesome thanks! I am still having fun with it and love finding new recipes.
      It really wasn’t as much work as it may seem. A lot of it was done by the dehydrator. In fact, I find raw cooking quite a bit easier and more fun than “regular” cooking, but again, not trying to make it a lifestyle…just part of a lifestyle 🙂

  4. I have been known to spend hours and hours in the kitchen on some new recipe I have a hankering for. It’s pleasing to me to have the patience for each little step. These tacos look like the kind of thing I sometimes involve myself in, and they look GREAT!

Leave a Reply

