My Raw Experience: Raw Almond Butter Cups (& a Peanut Variation)

I started making raw desserts about the same time I significantly cut out refined sugars from my diet. I don’t scrutinize labels for sugar in foods I consume but I do not consume sugar in coffee or eat other sweets anymore. The funny thing is that since cutting it out, I do not crave it. We take our kids to the ice cream shop on the weekends and all those 31 flavors do not taunt me at all. I like sweets but I think a big part of our eating them is due to addiction. Now, if I want something sweet, I can make a raw treat and feel completely satisfied of my sweet tooth.

I am a sucker for any kind of nut butter and chocolate. These instantly screamed at me when I saw the picture on Pinterest. Here is the web site and below is my experience!

Raw Almond Butter Cups

for the cups:

  • 3/4 cup raw almonds
  • 1/4 cup rolled oats, ground into a flour using coffee grinder
  • 2 tablespoons almond butter (just put almonds in a food processer and let it go on high until it turns to a butter)
  • 5 tablespoons coconut oil, warmed to a liquid (about 10 seconds in microwave)
  • 5 tablespoons pure maple syrup (or agave nectar)~I used syrup because I was out of agave nectar
  • 1/4 teaspoon cinnamon
  • 1/4 teaspoon pure vanilla extract
  • pinch of fine grain sea salt

for the topping:

  • 3 tablespoons coconut oil
  • 3 tablespoons pure maple syrup (or 2 tbsp agave nectar)
  • 2 tablespoons cocoa powder
  • pinch of fine grain sea salt, to taste

1. Make the almond butter by placing almonds in food processor on high until a butter forms after about 15 minutes

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

2. Grind oats in coffee grinder

FullSizeRender3. Add almonds and ground oats into a high-speed blender and blend on high until a flour forms. Dump into a large bowl and break up any clumps with your fingers

FullSizeRender_1

4, Add the nut butter, coconut oil, maple syrup (or agave), cinnamon, vanilla, and salt into the bowl. Stir until thoroughly combined. The dough should be sticky like cookie dough. (Oops! Forgot a picture!)

5.I coated my mini cupcake pan with coconut oil since I didn’t have any mini liners. Divy the dough into each muffin cup and press down until even and smooth.

FullSizeRender(2)

6. The chocolate sauce: Whisk together the coconut oil, sweetener, cocoa powder, and salt until no clumps remain. Spoon the sauce over top each of the cups, distributing evenly. Garnish cups with sliced almonds if desired.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

7.Place in the freezer in a flat area for 30-45 minutes, until firm. They pop out easily and taste so good! I stored mine in the fridge for a few days and they were delicious!

FullSizeRender_4(1)

I made these again yesterday for a friend who was craving something sweet. But instead used peanuts and adapted this recipe. I made the peanut filling as directed but then used the above chocolate as the coating. They are delicious too though not quite so pretty. But who really cares how chocolate and peanut butter LOOK!

Enjoy and Happy Friday!!

3 thoughts on “My Raw Experience: Raw Almond Butter Cups (& a Peanut Variation)

  1. Okay, this recipe looks like something I *might* try.
    Then again, for that one time every six months that I crave a chocolate peanut butter cup, it seems easier to just buy Reeces. 🙂

Leave a Reply

