Raw, Vegan Peppermint Brownies

Each raw dessert I make seems to trump the last. These are really delicious and can be adapted so many ways. The frosting alone is a great base for many recipes or even a bark. I’m going to try making a bark and will let you know! I had to play around with the brownies because they were a bit pasty the first go around after soaking the dates. Soaked dates give a gooey consistency which is good if you’re looking for a caramel-y flavor/texture. But for these, I wanted more of a cake-y texture. These are a great option for the Christmas holidays. Enjoy!

FullSizeRender(1)

Ingredients:

for the brownies:

  • 2 cups walnuts, soaked for about an hour
  • 2 cups dates
  • 3 T cacao powder
  • pinch of sea salt

for the frosting:

  • 1/2 cup coconut butter
  • 1/4 cup coconut oil
  • 2 T maple syrup
  • 1 t peppermint extract

Instructions:

for the brownies:

  • Pit and peel the dates.
  • First pulse the drained walnuts, cacao and sea salt then add the pitted and peeled dates. Over processing the dates makes the dough too pasty.
  • Pulse until a dough is formed.
  • In a brownie pan lined with parchment paper, press the dough down until an even layer is formed.
  • Cover and place in the freezer until the frosting is ready.

for the frosting:

  • Combine everything in a food processor and process until it is fully incorporated.
  • Pour the frosting over the brownie and place back in the fridge to set.
  • I left mine in overnight so it could harden completely. Or place in freezer for a few hours

For a festive look, grind up some dried goji berries and sprinkle on top.

FullSizeRender_2

FullSizeRender_3

Yum!!

 

Adapted from real raw kitchen recipe

10 thoughts on “Raw, Vegan Peppermint Brownies

  1. Looks good! Now where shall I find coconut butter? For a third world country surrounded with coconuts, it’s ridiculous that we do not have coconut butter! Pfft.

  2. Sounds like you do a lot of experimentation. Thanks for sharing this. I know how hard it is to find recipes that stand up to the things we miss the most!

  3. Wow, I already know, this is good because anything with peppermint is perfect! Love your pictures!
    I am inviting you to join my giveaway for a beautiful, silver heart locket!
    Details on my blog 😉

    Happy holidays!

  4. Wow, I know this is good because anything with peppermint is perfect!
    I am inviting you to join my giveaway for a beautiful, silver heart locket!
    Details on my blog 😉

    Happy Holidays!

Leave a Reply

